Seattle is so hipster

Last week I was in Seattle, Washington for work. With a busy schedule full of work and school, I didn’t take much time to think about my trip to Seattle until, well, once I was on the plane there. My knowledge of the state included it was on the  West Coast and experiences lots of rain. That is pretty much it. Boy, was I in for a treat.

My first pseudo-mistake was booking a hotel .4 miles away from the convention center where the conference was being held. The last two conferences were held in New Orleans and Orlando so I am accustomed to sun and warmth. Forgetting Seattle can be rather wet, I booked a hotel a decent walking distance from the actual conference (purely for more Marriott points, obviously). Fortunately for me, it did not rain much while I was in Seattle and when it did, I was sitting in an uncomfortable conference center chair learning about how to market my organization better by panelist with 496% more funds for their projects and ideas than I will ever have.

On one of my walks to the conference center I snapped a quick photo of something I saw quite a bit in Seattle. Tight skinny jeans on guys. But these jegging-like jean wearers are not your typical Jonas brother look-a-likes. They are hipsters. With beanie hats and asymmetrical facial hair. Although I know wearing tight jeans is some sort of fashion statement for men, I am still not a fan. I doubt I ever will be. It just makes them look like a weird boy-bodied, man-face person. Creepy.

I eventually made my way down to the Pike Place Market, a trendy spot to buy overpriced tourist-y gifts. After learning more about Seattle’s food culture, my coworker and I decided to do a food tour of the Market. (We did the Savor Seattle Food Tour for anyone that ends up in Seattle looking for something fun and delicious to do) Our tour guide definitely had character.

At least he isn’t wearing skinny jeans!

Our tour guide, Eric, brought us around to ten different little shops throughout the Market. My favorite spot was the fresh produce stands. Seattle is very eco-friendly and green, so I was not surprised to see so many locally grown fruits and veggies. I obviously paid a ridiculously high amount for some Washington apples, however, I will say they were almost the size of my head and the most delectable fruit I have eaten in a long time. Worth the $2.99 a pound.

Purchasing the apple started a hipster movement in me while visting Seattle. Soon I was sipping on non-fat grande lattes with multiple flavor shots every 4 hours. I wore multiple scarves at once, not even noticing they didn’t match. My tightest jeans just could not get tight enough. And I was regretting not packing all of my boots. There must be something hipster in the water.

Soon I found myself at a cafe doing the most Seattle-hipster things ever. The experience began when I ordered some coffee drink with two shots of espresso and exotic sounding additional flavors with skim milk (in a biodegradable cup, of course). I then took a seat, placing my umbrella on the table next to my reusable water bottle I have filled up back at the hotel in anticipation of my walking adventure around the city. Then I opened my leather bound journal and starting writing about my travels and experiences while on the West Coast. If that wasn’t enough, I topped it all off with a read of the Seattle Weekly. It does not get more Seattle hipster than that!

To conclude my Seattle adventure, I journied to the location of a Sleepless in Seattle scene. All in all, Seattle kicks ass! So many people rode bikes and cared about the environment. I would compare it to Burlington, Vermont, just with less snow. An awesome place that I suggest everyone should check out if they can get to Washington!

This weekend I am headed to New Hampshire with E. Should be a good time. Hopefully something funny happens that I can share with all of you!

XoXo CoCo

One response to “Seattle is so hipster

  1. Hey Corey!
    I don’t know if you remember me, but we were in Chi O at Gettysburg together. I clicked on the link you posted on facebook to find your blog! Love it! I have one too 🙂 Can’t wait to read more…it looks great!

Leave a Reply

