I just want access to the inter-web!

Seeing as my sister has been on top of her game and posted again this week, I will too! Two Sundays ago I moved into a new apartment. One of the best selling points for the place was heat, hot water, and CABLE are included in the rent. For busy (i.e. lazy) people like me, setting up new utilities accounts in my name is annoying. Plus I have a hard time staying in one place for more than a year. So any rental including most utilities makes the top of my list. The two things the apartment does not include, however, are electric and internet. Electric, no problem. E called and set us up with power on the first day. The internet, on the other hand, is a whole different game.

My question is, why is it so hard to set up an apartment, condo, home, etc with an internet connection? I have NEVER lived somewhere and had a seamless installation process. In this particular case, E called AT&T to order a DSL internet package. Great. He scheduled a time for someone to come out and set us up. Of course, they called back the next day claiming we already had a live phone wire and they could just ‘switch’ it off and run our internet through the line. I don’t know much about technology, but I knew this was headed in the wrong direction.

Of course, when we tried setting up the wireless router (because who wants to pay $150 for some goober to enter the apartment at a ridiculously inconvenient hour to simply plug the router into the wall with a telephone cord, aka installation), it didn’t work. When E called AT&T, they realized the phone line was deactivated, but they accidentally gave the first floor apartment our DSL. Fantastic. E reschedule for a Monday night 5 pm appointment. Well wouldn’t you guess, they called at 5 pm (when someone was supposed to be at our place ) and said they can’t make it. Awesome. Strangely enough, the internet was turning on and off all night. What a tease!! AT&T and their super friendly staff will be working to fix the problem today. Hopefully by the end of this week we will be up and running with full access to the inter-web.

Now this is just one example. I am sure you have had a similar experience. My mom (the technological guru that she is) had internet set up in her house a few years ago when she first moved in. For some strange reason she was only able to connect to the internet in the office and my sister’s bedroom. She called Comcast to come and move the wireless router into a more centralized location: the kitchen. So now she has a large wireless router box living on the kitchen counter, but still cannot connect to the internet from the living room or her bedroom. After months of battling with her low connectivity (you know, the said small yellow bar in the bottom right hand corner of your laptop), she had a Comcast person come out again and take a took. Wouldn’t you know, the wireless had never been active. The computers in the house were just connecting to the idiot next door’s internet who didn’t have a security password set up. UGGG. Internet drama.

I wonder how many people work at AT&T and Comcast? They never seem to have enough to get out to new clients in a timely manner. If all it takes to turn on the DSL in my apartment is to climb up the phone pole and turn a switch, I am thinking about giving it a whirl myself. How hard can it be? And if I succeed, do I get a discount? Or is it free? Perhaps they will offer me a job.

For now, I am pretty sure AT&T is having the last laugh. At least that is what I picture. All of the customer service people just sitting around in the office laughing at all of us worried about not having an internet connection. Obviously I am writing this post from the computer in my office… with full access to the internet.

P.S. I am not sure why there are two great images of cats and their interaction with the internet, but I like it!

CoCo

Leave a Reply

