Its Thanksgiving break!

Here I am at home. UConn gives us allll week off, which is a beautiful thing. So today, when I woke up at 10:30am after going to bed at 11pm (yes, I am that lame) and taking an hour nap around 6pm, I started thinking about how great it would be to sleep when I pleased and do nothing when I wasn’t. I mean, yea vacation is sort of like that, but where could I go and have this sort of life style foreverrr? There’s one place I could think of: a nursing home.

Once you get over the fact that it always smells and the food is subpar and you can’t actually leave, a nursing home is like paradise. There are people there to clean you and to feed you and to move you around. Essentially, you don’t have to do anything for yourself ever again.

Sure, most people that go into nursing homes are super old, but I can overlook that. Because I want to watch TV at 4 in the morning and sleep until 2 in the afternoon. I don’t want to know the date or the time. I just want to cruise around the hallways at midnight eating pudding out of my cup holder and bothering the night nurses.

It sounds like fun doesn’t it? I have clinical rotation is a nursing home ever week. No one looks particularly unhappy about being there. My favorite patient is one who had a stroke a few years back and can’t speak anymore. It sounds super sad, but he’s great. He cruises around in his motorized wheelchair everywhere in the facility. He has a license plate on his chair with his name and if you ask any of the nurses about him, they know exactly who you’re talking about. He always smiles when anyone walks by and he’s happy as a clam to be where he is.

There was also a woman who was very dissapointed that I was 21 and not married. Then again, she thought she had only been in the facility for 3 weeks, when in reality, it had been over nine years. She told me that she felt like a celebrity because everyone took such good care of her.

And that is why I would like to enjoy some time in a home. Just to test the waters. I mean, I really like pudding.

CassMaster

Leave a Reply

